Thoughts on religion and being gay

I really think that Americans need to just get over themselves. Picking an African-American president (whose middle name, incidentally, is Hussein), and then banning gay marriage in California and elsewhere, and gay adoption in Florida. Very uncool. I honestly don’t understand.

The thing is, I’m not sure what exactly it is that they are so afraid of. But they are afraid. Very afraid.

All this made me think about one of the reasons they say gay marriage is wrong, namely that it is a sin. Now, I am the first one to admit that I am not very church-orientated. I do believe in God, and Jesus, and the Holy Ghost, and all that stuff. I have the usual share of issues with God and being gay. But I do not belong to a church, because I really don’t see myself listening to a straight minister, and the only gay church I know off (maybe there is more) have a ratio of 50 men for every 1 women.

My first issue with condemning being gay because it is a sin: nowhere in the New Testament of the Bible does it actually say so. And, I have it on good authority from a Minster, the references to homosexuality in the Old Testament could have been wrongly translated from the original Hebrew. But let’s, for a moment, accept that according to the Bible, it is a sin.

Never you mind about all that other stuff like not throwing the first stone and judging others and loving your fellow man UNCONDITIONALLY…

Let’s look at what the Bible says about marriage (in the New Testament):

Mattthew 19: “He said to them: Moses, because of the hardness of your hearts, permitted you to divorce your wives, but from the beginning it was not so. And I say to you, whoever divorces his wife, except for sexual immorality, and marries another, commits adultery; and whoever marries her who is divorced commits adultery.”

Mark 10: “Therefore what God has joined together, let not man separate. In the house His disciples also asked Him again about the same matter. So He said to them, “Whoever divorces his wife and marries another commits adultery against her. And if a woman divorces her husband and marries another, she commits adultery.””

And, of course, we know that the ten commandments clearly states: YOU SHALL NOT COMMIT ADULTERY.

This makes me feel slightly better. Because if I am going to hell for being gay, then at least I know I won’t be there alone. I’ll be there with every single person who ever got married, divorced, and married again.

~ by plesierig on November 17, 2008.

One Response to “Thoughts on religion and being gay”

  1. People are afraid of anything which disrupts their world view. I just read an article in a psychology journal that deals with the sense of fear and loss people experience when anything changes, even for the better. When it’s clear that the changes are to a person’s benefit, it is easy to reason oneself out of the sense of loss, but when the benefits to yourself aren’t clear, the loss is felt even more acutely, even if the person doesn’t in fact suffer any material loss. It’s just about feeling in control of one’s environment. The plus side of that is that as gay relationships become more a part of people’s familiar landscape, the sense of loss of order will cease to exist. The down side is that that takes time. A long time. But every time someone who wouldn’t otherwise encounter it sees gay couples living healthy, productive lives, another little victory for the process of familiarization is won.

Leave a Reply

 
